About Softball Canada

SC EmblemThe Canadian Amateur Softball Association, commonly known as Softball Canada, is a not-for-profit National Sport Organization (NSO) based in Ottawa, Ontario founded in 1965. It is recognized and financially supported by the Government of Canada as the National Governing Body for the sport of softball. Softball Canada is administered by an eight-member Board of Directors elected by the country's 12 Provincial and Territorial Associations, and is supported by eight staff members working in the National Office.

Softball Canada's Coach and Umpire Development programs are recognized as worldwide leaders in the sport of softball, and all four of Canada's National Teams (Men and Women, Junior Men and Women) are perennial medal threats in all international competitions.

With funding annually provided by Sport Canada, membership fees, sales and sponsorship, Softball Canada develops new programming to target various segments of its membership, including the very successful Learn to Play, Canpitch and Triple Play programs. The Long Term Player Development Guide for Softball in Canada serves as Softball Canada's framework for decision-making.

2015-18 Strategic Plan

2015-18 Strategic Pan
(Click on the image to open the document)


A unified softball community providing life-long, healthy opportunities that enhance participation and excellence for all.


Softball Canada promotes, engages and enhances our sport by developing & delivering innovative and diverse programs and services for all.

Operating Principles

  1. LTPD Framework guides decision-making
  2. Programs and competitions meet participants’ needs
  3. Recreational and competitive streams support sustainability
  4. Recognition and respect for all
  5. Effective communication in participants’ official language of choice  
  6. Effective organizational management


Softball Canada Provides:

  • Fair and inclusive access
  • Ethical, respectful and moral behaviour
  • Safe, supportive and fun environment