This award, created by Softball Canada in 2008, recognizes the life and contributions of Rose Hodgson. Rose, who passed away in 2007 having served 9 years as an active Softball Canada Board member, contributed selflessly to the betterment of softball at the local, provincial and national levels. In her over 35 years as a volunteer, she always put players first and would support any initiative that gave them the opportunity to play and reach their dreams, whatever they were.

Nominees for this award can be volunteers from any level of the game. They will have supported the experiences of players through any number of contributions (outside of coaching and officiating where awards already exist). The theme of their nomination will be that they have tirelessly committed themselves to the game. They may have created or improved softball opportunities in their area, or simply added to the enjoyment of the game for those involved in the sport.

A letter of application, including references, supporting material and a letter of endorsement from the respective Provincial/Territorial association must be received at the Softball Canada office by September 15.

The successful candidate will be selected from within the region hosting the Annual Meeting that year. The presentation of the award will be done at the Softball Canada Annual Meeting.


DEBBIE MALISANI (Mississauga, Ont.) has been volunteering for the game of softball for over 35 years. She began volunteering in her local community, and has been dedicating her time, efforts, and experience to bettering the sport in Ontario since then. Debbie currently sits as the President of the Provincial Women’s Softball Association of Ontario (PWSA), the Finance Chair for Softball Ontario, and sits on the Eastern Canadian committee. She has tirelessly overseen women’s softball in Ontario and has seen the growth in its membership.

Debbie has also been involved in coaching, having coached in the Rexdale Softball League in 1992 and 1993. In 1995, she switched from coaching to team manager with the Oakville Angels Rep Team. In 1997 and 1998, she gladly helped manage the Markham Tigers Rep Team, along with helping fundraise, create schedules, and logistics.

In 2019, Debbie received the recognition of the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers, presented by the City of Mississauga, on behalf of the Governor General of Canada for her years of exceptional service.

Debbie is considered a consistent and dependable leader, while always displaying respect for others, patience, and commitment to foster and improve the game of softball for everyone. She is an advocate for female softball in Ontario and has been an integral part of its continued growth.


2023 - Debbie Malisani (Ontario)
2022 - Brent Evans (New Brunswick)
2019 - Dave Brewer (Alberta)
2018 - Michel Leclair (Quebec)
2017 - Paul F. Smith (Newfoundland & Labrador)
2016 - Lawrence Beatty (Saskatchewan)
2015 - Valerie Pelleck (Manitoba)
2014 - Bev Adams (New Brunswick)
2013 - Floyd Daniels (Northwest Territories)
2012 - Gerri Dornstauder (Alberta)
2011 - Sherry Maher (Newfoundland & Labrador)
2010 - Bryan Kosteroski (Saskatchewan)
2009 - Carl Littlejohns (Ontario)
2008 - Linda Petrie (Prince Edward Island)