The CLAUDE DESCHAMPS MEMORIAL AWARD was established in 1984 in honour of a former Executive Director of Softball Canada, Mr. Claude Deschamps.

This bursary is nationally administered by Softball Canada and is awarded annually to a female and male recipient towards their education. The recipients for this Award receive $1000.00 each and are chosen from the region* hosting the annual Softball Canada Congress (formerly known as the Annual General Meeting).

To qualify for this Award, the applicant must be:

  • Registered with the provincial/territorial association
  • In a minor category, for a minimum of two (2) years prior to the application
  • Be a resident of the province/territory
  • Be in attendance at a recognized educational institution at a post-secondary level.

Softball Canada by September 15 of each year must receive a letter of application, a completed application form, along with a letter of endorsement from the provincial/territorial office.

Note: Reference letter(s) may be included whenever possible.


Western: Saskatchewan, Alberta, Yukon Territory and British Columbia
Atlantic: New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland & Labrador, and Prince Edward Island
Central: Ontario, Quebec, Manitoba, and Northwest Territories, Nunavut Territory

Application Form


Megan Duclos (Saint-Eustache, Que.) recently began her two-year post-secondary education program at Vanier College with the goal of seeking an NCAA scholarship. A member of the Quebec Rebelles U19 team, she was a Canadian Championship All-Star Outfielder in both 2017 and 2018 and has been named to the 2019 Junior Women’s National Team Athlete Pool.

Duclos was named Softball Quebec’s Athlete of the Year at the National/International level in 2017. A strong academic student, she enjoys weight lifting in her spare time and has volunteered her time as a softball coach and scorekeeper through the Rebelles program. Her softball goals include playing for Canada’s Junior Women’s National Team, an NCAA softball team and competing at the Olympic Games.

Isaac Lefebvre (St-Leonard-d’Aston, Que.) has begun his second year of a Natural Science program at the Drummondville CEGEP. He was co-captain and one of three returning players with Canada’s Junior Men’s National Team this summer, hitting .333 with a homerun and six RBIs while leading the team with eight hits, six runs and five stolen bases to help Canada to a fourth-place finish at the 2018 WBSC Junior Men’s Softball World Championship in Prince Albert, Sask.

On top of his offensive talents, Lefebvre is an amazing defensive player and was also Canada’s starting third baseman as a 16-year old in 2016. He helped Team Quebec to a Bronze medal at the 2017 Canada Summer Games in Winnipeg and competed in both the U19 and U23 Men’s Canadian Championships in 2018. Isaac enjoys snowboarding and training in the gym in his spare time.


2017 - Casey Hogan (NB) and Jordan Pomeroy (NL)
2016 - Taylor Lundrigan (BC) and Tyler Randerson (ON)
2015 - Natalie Wideman (ON) and Matthew Wardrop (ON)
2014 - Kristen Byrne (NB) and Alex Harding (NB)
2013 - Jessica Raymond (ON) and Tom Fischer (ON)
2012 - Cassandra Dypchey (BC) and Ty Sebastian (ON)
2011 - Kayla Richards (NS) and Myles Coldwell (NS)
2010 - Shirrae Muhr (SK) and Michael Friedrich (AB)
2009 - Patricia Séguin (QC) and Brendan Roach (ON)
2008 - Alisha Sherwood (NB) and Matt Fromm (ON)
2007 - Rebecca Hartley (BC) and Brett Casavant (SK)
2006 - Holly White (NS) and Ryan Boland (NL)
2005 - Geneviève Houle (QC) and Mathieu Roy (QC)
2004 - Melanie Matthews (BC) and Jordan Matt (BC)
2003 - Chasity Findlay and Joe German
2002 - Kimberley Baglole (PEI) and Robert Doiron (NS)
2001 - Katy Wolfe (AB) and Sarah Smiley (AB)
2000 - Kristina Chrisztopoulosz (ON) and Chris Shewfelt (ON)
1999 - Virginia Barbosa (NS) and Kenneth McCullough (NS)
1998 - Trevor Ethier (SK)