Mrs. Ruth A Laing created the ETHEL BOYCE ACHIEVEMENT AWARD in 1998 through a donation in memory of her sister Miss Ethel Phoebe Boyce.

Miss Boyce was an avid softball player who had a professional and personal interest in people. She was particularly interested in young people and helping them to succeed in life.

The award is administered by Softball Canada and is given annually awarded to a female and male recipient. It is expected that the award winners will have exhibited leadership traits and skills in softball. Both recipients receive $1,000. The award is meant to help defray the costs of education and/or playing softball. The award winners will be announced at the annual Softball Canada Congress (formerly known as the Annual General Meeting).

To qualify for this award the applicant must be:

  • Registered with a provincial/territorial association
  • A resident of the province or territory
  • In attendance at a recognized Canadian post secondary educational institution

Softball Canada by September 15 of each year must receive a letter of application, a completed application form, along with a letter of endorsement from the provincial/territorial office.

Note: Reference letter(s) must be included whenever possible.

Application Form


Ashlyn Rupps (Saskatoon, Sask.) started her second year of an Arts and Science degree at the University of Saskatchewan. She was a member of Team Saskatchewan at the Canada Summer Games in Winnipeg, helping her team to a medal round playoff spot and a 4th place finish by batting .310 with a homerun and 6 RBIs in 10 games.

Rupps played for the University of Saskatchewan softball team this fall. She was named to the Western Collegiate Softball Association (WCSA) All-Star Team and helped her team to a Silver medal at the Canadian Collegiate Softball Association (CCSA) National Championship held in Ottawa. Her other hobbies include basketball and volleyball, and she works at the softball diamonds in Saskatoon.

Mitch Stack (Petty Harbour, N.L.) is a third-year student at Memorial University, pursuing a Business Administration degree. He won a bronze medal as a member of Team Canada at the 2016 WBSC Junior Men’s Softball World Championship and was named Softball Newfoundland and Labrador’s Junior Athlete of the Year that same year. This summer, he was the starting shortstop of Team Newfoundland and Labrador at the Canada Games in Winnipeg, helping the team to a fifth place finish with 4 homeruns and 9 runs batted in through 11 games.

He volunteered his time to help train upcoming prospects from Newfoundland for the 2018 and 2020 Junior Men’s Softball World Championships, and did the same with the 2017 Canada Games Women’s Softball Team as well as local minor teams in his community. He is also helping out with a high school softball team.


2016 - Kelyn Palmer (NS) and Derek Hyde (ON)
2015 - Olivia Priestlay (BC) and Greg Hammell (ON)
2014 - Brielle McCullough (SK) and Johnathan Baker (ON)
2013 - Rachel Proctor (BC) and Nicole Swett (BC)
2012 - Robin Mackin (ON) and Brendon Bonner (ON)
2011 - Shannon Galea (ON) and Austin Brown (ON)
2010 - Shea Black (ON) and Brent Mills (ON)
2009 - Chenelle Mitchell (SK) and Shane Boland (NL)
2008 - Anne Kelly (SK) and Erin Durant (ON)
2007 - Melissa Bowyer (ON) and Jaclyn Gibbons (ON)
2006 - Danielle Bradley (BC) and Josh Roach (ON)
2005 - Cassandra Morais (QC) and Chris Teichreb (SK)
2004 - Lindsay Miller (MB) and Chris Teichreb (SK)
2003 - Jennifer Schreyer and Brian Mayson
2002 - Cathy Ingalls (ON) and Derek Mayson (BC)
2001 - Melissa MacKinnon (NS) and Ryan Olde (SK)
2000 - Jacquelyn Novak (ON) and Justin Dauvin (SK)
1999 - Alison Bradley (ON) and Jeff Berry (AB)