2020 WBSC U-18 Men's Softball World Cup

2020 WBSC U-18 Men's Softball World Cup

14 February 2020 Gilles LeBlanc

2020 U18 Men's WorldCup

Palmerston North, New Zealand – The Canadian Junior Men’s National Softball Team is ready to compete at the 2020 WBSC U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup from February 22 to March 1 in Palmerston, New Zealand. Team Canada will open the tournament on Saturday, February 22 taking on South Africa at 1:30pm New Zealand time (7:30pm EST on February 21).
Team Canada arrived in Palmerston North earlier this week and will play in the Manawatu Classic tournament featuring four international teams (Argentina, Australia, Canada and Japan) and four local New Zealand club teams this weekend. Canada is also scheduled to face a local New Zealand Men’s Team, Australia and Japan in exhibition games next week before the start of the World Cup.
There will be twelve teams divided into two groups of six competing at the WBSC U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup. Joining No. 4 Canada in Group A are No. 2 Argentina, No. 5 Australia, No. 7 Czech Republic, No. 17 Singapore and No. 10 South Africa, while Group B includes No. 11 Denmark, No. 21 Guatemala, No. 1 Japan, No. 8 Mexico, No. 3 New Zealand and No. 6 United States
Following the opening round, the top three teams from each group will advance to the Super Round while the three bottom teams from each group will move to the Placement Round. The teams with the two best records at the end of the Super Round will play for Gold, while the two next best records will play for Bronze.
Canada finished fourth at the 2018 WBSC U-19 Men’s Softball World Cup in Prince Albert, with its last medal coming when they won Bronze at the 2016 tournament held in Midland, Michigan.
Live scoring and streaming will be available through the tournament website.


Jack Becker Drumbo, Ont.
Ryan Bicknell Prince Albert, Sask.
Tyler Branchaud Metcalfe, Ont.
Connor Brooks Napanee, Ont.
Xavier Daneau St-Celestin, Que.
Brock Fencott Belleville, Ont.
Brody Fraser Upper Nine Mile River, N.S.
Max Major Delisle, Sask.
Mason McKay Tavistock, Ont.
Jackson Pegelo Cargill, Ont.
Owen Rahn Durham, Ont.
Joey Rousseau St-Charles-de-Bellechasse, Que.
Nathan Running Innerkip, Ont.
Andrew Van Boekel Bright, Ont.
Matthew Weiler Hepworth, Ont.
Reese Yantzi Shakespeare, Ont.


Head Coach Jeff Ellsworth St. Lawrence, P.E.I.
Assistant Coach Kalen Kovitch Prince Albert, Sask.
Assistant Coach Mark Quinn Mermaid, P.E.I.
Assistant Coach Shaun Winship Belmont, Ont.
Athletic Therapist Mark Kiervin St. John, N.B.
Manager - MNT Mike Branchaud Ottawa, Ont.


Frankie Billngsley Edmonton, Alta.
Geneviève Gaudreau St-Hubert, Que.


(Dates/times converted to Eastern Standard Time in Canada)
February 21 Canada vs. South Africa 7:30pm EST
February 22 Canada vs. Singapore 6:00pm EST
February 23 Canada vs. Czech Republic 8:30pm EST
February 24 Canada vs. Australia 11:00pm EST
February 25 Canada vs. Argentina 11:00pm EST
February 26 Super/Placement Round TBD
February 27 Super/Placement Round TBD
February 28 Super/Placement Round TBD
February 29 Medal Round TBD