Do you know an umpire who:
  • respects everyone who is involved with the game and demonstrates good   sportsmanship?
  • is involved with officials program development in your area?
  • is a positive umpiring role model?
  • tries to become a better umpire through education and training?
  • contributes to local umpire programs through instructing or   evaluating?
  • shares their expertise with the softball community?

If you answered YES to these questions,
then this person is a candidate for the
Softball Canada / Kahunaverse Sports Umpire of the Year

Individuals or groups in your province/territory have the chance to submit their nomination for the "Umpire of the Year" Award.

Don't miss the opportunity to have your umpires, and their achievements, recognized across Canada.

The deserving recipient of the "Umpire of the Year" Award will be brought by Softball Canada to the Softball Canada Annual General Meeting for two days and one night, and will be honoured at the Softball Canada Congress.

The "Umpire of the Year" nomination form is below, so have people or groups get their application into Softball Canada now!


  1. The umpire shall be a Canadian citizen / landed immigrant.
  2. The umpire shall be fully certified (at any softball level) to qualify.
  3. The umpire shall have served in a volunteer officiating position(s) for a minimum of 4 years.
  4. The umpire shall have contributed to umpire development as an instructor, evaluator, mentor, or program developer.
  5. The umpire shall have a high level of officiating ability.

Nominations should include:

    • Umpire’s name, address, and phone number(s)
    • Name, address, and phone number(s) of nominating individual or group
    • Record of nominee’s umpiring experience
    • Record of umpiring achievements
    • Umpire’s role in developing and improving the officiating aspect of the sport
    • Personal highlights in the current year
The deadline for "Umpire of the Year" nominations is:
  September 1

Nomination Form

*Please save the file, fill it out and email to Donna Ozarko (dozarko@softball.ca)


Clinton Harvey (Valley, N.S.) began umpiring at a young age and achieved his Level V status in 2009 before becoming a WBSC certified umpire in 2011. Locally, he was the Umpire-in-Chief for the Fundy region of Nova Scotia in 2008 and 2009, served as the province’s Umpire-in-Chief from 2010 to 2015 and then returned to his roots to serve as vice-president of the Fundy region in 2014-2015 before becoming President in 2016. Harvey is the go-to person for both coaches and umpire and is very approachable at every event he attends. He is always willing to help other umpires take their game to the next level.

Harvey’s first international softball assignment was at the 2015 WBSC Junior Women’s World Softball Championship in Oklahoma City. The following year, he represented Canada at the 2016 European Men's Championship in Montegranaro, Italy and was a lead instructor at the Youth Workshop at the 2016 Blue Convention held in Richmond, B.C. He has excellent positioning and knowledge of the rules, and is able to present these aspects of the game very effectively at umpire clinics he has led.

In 2017, Harvey represented the province of Nova Scotia as a working umpire at the Canada Summer Games in Winnipeg while also providing leadership as the Deputy Umpire-in-Chief at the U18 Men's Canadian Championship in O’Leary, P.E.I. His experience has proven to be very valuable and he does not hesitate to share them to help other umpires improve their skills.


2016 - Aaron Poulin (British Columbia)
2015 - Terry Richter (Alberta)
2014 - Sandra Allan (New Brunswick)
2013 - Brent Chadwick (Saskatchewan)
2012 - Joyce Bellini (Quebec)
2011 - Keith Pender (Newfoundland & Labrador)
2010 - Moose Gibson (Saskatchewan)
2009 - Dick Coleman (Ontario)
2008 - Geneviève Gaudreau (Quebec)
2007 - Jack Van Bynen (Ontario)
2006 - Denis Bélanger (Quebec)
2005 - Bob Constantin (Alberta)
2004 - Chris Lee (British Columbia)
2003 - Don Bracey (Ontario)
2002 - Wayne Shipley (Nova Scotia)
2001 - Serge Laflamme (Quebec)
2000 - Keith Hazel (British Columbia)
1999 - Al Shenduk (Alberta)
1998 - Bob Stanton (New Brunswick)