HR Sports PNG 

Do you know a coach who:

  • Respects everyone who is involved with the game and demonstrates good sportsmanship?
  • Is concerned with the complete development of all their players?
  • Is a positive coaching role model?
  • Tries to become a better coach through education and training?
  • Is able to improve the performance of the players and team they coach?
  • Shares their expertise with the softball community?

If you answered YES to these questions,
then this person is a candidate for the
Home Run Sports Coach of the Year


  1. The coach shall be a Canadian citizen / landed immigrant.
  2. The coach shall be fully certified (in any softball NCCP context) to qualify.
  3. The coach shall be nominated by a player, softball club or league executive, district softball organization, community service group, municipal council or local school board. (No personal nominations will be accepted.)

Nominations must include:

  • Coach's name, address, and phone number(s)
  • Name, address, and phone number(s) of nominating individual or group
  • Record of nominee's coaching experience
  • Coach's record of softball NCCP activity
  • Record of coaching achievements / player progress
  • Coach's role in developing and improving sport, coaching and athletes in their community
  • Personal highlights
  • It is strongly recommended to include letters of support from athletes that have been coached by the nominee or letters from other sources to give the selection committee a good understanding of the nominee`s coaching ability
  • Picture of nominee. Can be a head and shoulders shot or a photo of nominee actively coaching
DEADLINE: September 15th
  (or next business day)

Nomination Form


SCOTT AQUANNO (Whitby, Ont.) has been heavily involved in coaching for nine years, most recently as the Head Coach of the Whitby Eagles U17 Elite team. The team went undefeated at the qualifying tournament for the 2023 U17 Girl’s Canadian Fast Pitch Championship in Saskatoon, Sask., earning them the position as Ontario 1.

Aquanno is not only motivational but also inspirational, and this is demonstrated through his team speeches before each game. The purpose of these speeches is to get the team in the right mindset, pump them up, and make the players believe they are capable of great things, and it works. Aquanno's strategic insight is equally remarkable; he possesses an ability to dissect opponents' mechanics and weaknesses, effectively leveraging this insight to his team's advantage.

Aquanno understands that being a good coach is not only about understanding the game and having a good resume, but also about being a good role model, respecting your players and treating them with kindness. Aquanno is always striving to get the best out of his players, regardless of how they are playing on the field. 


2023 - Scott Aquanno (Ontario)
2022 - Jeff Fraser (Nova Scotia)
2021 - Cory Brooks (Ontario)
2020 - No award (COVID-19 pandemic)
2019 - Ted Birdsall (British Columbia)
2018 - Rod Drouillard (Ontario)
2017 - Chris Hopewell (Nova Scotia)
2016 - Jean-Yves Doucet (Quebec)
2015 - David Muswaggon (Manitoba)
2014 - John Hill (Newfoundland & Labrador)
2013 - Haylee O'Neill (Manitoba)
2012 - Mike Soucy (Alberta)
2011 - Jamie Wentworth (Nova Scotia)
2010 - Earle Woodside (Saskatchewan)
2009 - Claude Vinet (Quebec)
2008 - Dave Bourne (Ontario)
2007 - Tyler Lorenz (British Columbia)
2006 - Jim Dunphy (Newfoundland & Labrador)
2005 - Marie-Claude Lapointe (Quebec)
2004 - Phil Thom (British Columbia)
2003 - Rocky Larson (Alberta)
2002 - Paul Doiron (Nova Scotia)
2001 - Allan Schwarz (Alberta)
2000 - Jerry Dugger (British Columbia)
1999 - Ray Gillis (New Brunswick)
1998 - Bob Turner (Manitoba)
1997 - Roger Ahern (Prince Edward Island)
1996 - Not awarded
1995 - Evelyn and Roy Holenski (Manitoba)
1994 - Louis Henri (New Brunswick)
1993 - David McLean (Saskatchewan)
1992 - Ian Belyea (Alberta)
1991 - Fred Jackson (Newfoundland & Labrador)
1990 - Emile Berube (Alberta)
1989 - Doug Holoien (Saskatchewan)