Softball Canada Announces Slo-Pitch Border Battle Athlete Pools

Softball Canada Announces Slo-Pitch Border Battle Athlete Pools

9 June 2020 Gilles LeBlanc
SC Slo-Pitch
Ottawa, Ont. – Softball Canada is pleased to announce the coaching staff and athlete pools for the next Men’s and Women’s Slo-Pitch Border Battle teams. The 2020 edition of the Slo-Pitch Border Battle has been tentatively scheduled for September 25-27, 2020 in Oklahoma City, Okla.
The coaching staff and athlete pools were announced on a live Rawlings Canada Speaker Series webinar hosted by Softball Canada earlier this evening.
In the event the Canadian Men’s and Women’s Slo-Pitch teams are unable to attend due to border closures or health concerns related to the COVID-19 pandemic, these athlete pools will be carried forward for the next edition of the Border Battle that is scheduled to take place in July 2021 in Kent, Wash.
The coaching staffs from both teams in 2019 will return for the next Border Battle. Grant Garrett (Georgetown, Ont.) will continue to serve as head coach of the Men’s Team with Todd Cadenhead (Mossley, Ont.) and Mike Hrynenko (Winnipeg, Man.) serving as the assistant coaches. On the Women’s side, Tony Carnelos (Georgetown, Ont.) returns as head coach with Bruce Collett (Guelph, Ont.) and Kareena Zanolli (Lethbridge, Alta.) joining him as assistant coaches.
The next edition of the Border Battle will be the 12th installment of the event, and the 4th featuring the Women's division. Canada has won two Slo-Pitch Border Battles on the Men's side and one on the Women's. Last year's results were a 30-14 loss for the Canadian Men and a 15-5 loss for the Canadian Women.


Colin Andrews Hanover, Ont.
Jeff Andrews St. Albert, Alta.
Bryon Bell Kitchener, Ont.
Maxime Bouchard Trois-Rivières, Que.
Ryan Gates London, Ont.
Shaun Gilchrist Lethbridge, Alta.
David Goulet Sherbrooke, Que.
Bob Henning Scarborough, Ont.
Kyle Knechtel Ayr, Ont.
Steele Lewis Windsor, Ont.
Jonathan Malo Quebec City, Que.
Ron Nadalin Woodstock, Ont.
Curtis Neabel Woodstock, Ont.
Justin Pennell Toronto, Ont.
Hunter Platten Edmonton, Alta.
Kyle Reinders Cambridge, Ont.
Pat Severin Kingston, Ont.
Chadwin Stang Surrey, B.C.
Steve Way Langley, B.C.
Ryan Yakura Toronto, Ont.


Jackie Bates Langley, B.C.
Sarah Berry Acton, Ont.
Amanda Beitel Surrey, B.C.
Kristy Bremer Ottawa, Ont.
Ericka Burns West Lorne, Ont.
Olivia Crossley Brampton, Ont.
Jesse Goddard Langley, B.C.
Tina Gulbrandsen Langley, B.C.
Melanie Gulbransen Aldergrove, B.C.
Shannon Hilton Innisfil, Ont.
Amanda Howard Strathmore, Alta.
Kait Kloet Simcoe, Ont.
Shelby Lia Whitby, Ont.
Michelle Lorenz Toronto, Ont.
Jacqueline O'Quinn Toronto, Ont.
Patti Simon Big Horn, Alta.
Paige Smith Gretna, Man.
Kearstin Solberg Ryley, Alta.
Lenny Stoddart Bolton, Ont.
Charity "Fez" Verboom Shannonville, Ont.