2019 U17 Junior Women's National Team

2019 U17 Junior Women's National Team

6 September 2019 Gilles LeBlanc

Softball Canada Script + Emblem

Ottawa, Ont. – Softball Canada is pleased to announce the list of fifteen (15) athletes who have been named to the 2019 U17 Junior Women’s National Team. The roster has been determined by the coaching staff following regional combines held across Canada earlier this year and the recently completed U16 Girls’ and U19 Women’s Canadian Championships.
Team Canada is scheduled to compete at the 2019 WBSC Americas U17 Women’s Softball Qualifier from October 11-20 in Colombia. The event will serve as a qualifier for the 2020 WBSC U18 Women’s Softball World Cup, with the dates and location to be announced at a later date.
Canada is coming off a historic bronze medal finish at the WBSC U19 Women’s Softball World Cup in California last month, which was the first-ever medal won by the Canadian Junior Women’s National Team program. In a reshuffling of the international softball calendar, World Cups at this age level will now be played in even years and the age category has been changed from U19 to U18.

The athletes who will represent Canada at the 2019 WBSC Americas U17 Women’s Softball Qualifier are:


Kaitlyn Achtermeier Newmarket, Ont.
Lauren Benson White Rock, B.C.
Emma Dorval Surrey, B.C.
Olivia Goderis Swan Lake, Man.
Deanna Grahek Georgetown, Ont.
Annabelle Guay Terrebonne, Que.
Ella Herrewig Surrey, B.C.
Amy Hughes Brampton, Ont.
Katie Korstrom Abbotsford, B.C.
Madelyn McKinnon Surrey, B.C.
Shelby Miller Georgetown, Ont.
Erin Murphy Surrey, B.C.
Samantha Ryan Monroe, N.Y.
Abbey Tolmie Clarkston, Mich.
Rawnie Weststrate North Delta, B.C.


Head Coach Melissa Finley London, Ont.
Assistant Coach Melissa Basilio Oshawa, Ont.
Assistant Coach Russell Cooper Tahiti Bay, NZL
Assistant Coach Daniel Joly Montreal, Que.